Get email delivery of the Cadence blog featured here
Part, Schematic, Footprint and Models can all be deleted from the database now with the Allegro Design Workbench ADW16.3 release. Schematic and footprint models may only be deleted if they are not associated with a part. Once a Schematic or Footprint model is deleted from the database, the model is removed from the reference library. The deleted model archive is retained in the vault so the Librarian can check out and release the model again, should the model be needed in the future. A deleted part is also removed from the physical part table file (PTF).Rules for Deleting any Object
When a part is removed from a corporate part list, or has reached the end of its lifecycle, customers have requested the ability to identify the replacement for this part in future designs. This is accomplished by the Replaced By Association assignment in the part. The Librarian assigns the association of a replacement part to the part that has become obsolete. When the lib_dist has run, the library is updated designating a replacement part for the obsolete model. When the LRM tool detects a used model in a design that has an associated “Replace By” assignment, the LRM will report this information to the designer and suggest using the replacement part. A design report can be run to detect all the deleted parts in a design:
design_report –proj filepath –query Deleted–output report.lst
Note: A replacement part can only be associated with a deleted part.
Read on for more details...__________________________________________________________________
Start the DBEditor, and then search for the schematic model you wish to delete (let’s call it SMB for this example). View the SMB model data.1. Select Edit->Delete in the main menu.2. Select Yes to the delete prompt.3. You will note that the delete operation failed. This is because the SMB model is still associated with a non-deleted part.4. Close the delete process form.5. View the part data which is associated with the SMB model.6. Select Edit->Delete in the main menu.7. Select Yes to the delete prompt.8. The part is now marked for delete. With the part now marked for delete the SMB model may now be deleted.9. Repeat the steps 2, 3, and 4 above to delete the SMB model.10. The SMB model is now marked for delete. Again at this stage you can run the library distribution process “lib_dist” from an ADW Prompt Window. 11. After Library Distribution has completed go back into DBEditor and search for the SMB model. You will notice that it and its associated linked part are now marked as Deleted (development status), and the Distribution status is marked as distributed as the library distribution process has been run.If you were to look in the reference library you will also notice that the SMB cell has been deleted from its library and the part is no longer in the reference PTF.In a similar way to a pre-release report, you can also run a deleted report
Replace by Function 1. In the DBEditor tool, search for the newly deleted part (the one you deleted above).2. Display the details for this part.3. Select Edit->Add Replacement Part from the main Menu4. In the Associate Replace By UI, select another part then select the Associate button.5. Save the part. You will see the “Replaced by” details for this part.As always, please share how you're using this new feature!
Jerry "GenPart" Grzenia