Multiple ground ties

FormerMember
FormerMember

Hi,

I'm relatively new to Allegro 16.6, but know enough to get in trouble. I have a board that I'm working on now and trying to tie multiple grounds to the same copper areas.  I have a switching power supply that gets a ground  tied through vias to the center pad under the part.  This pour attached to that pad is set as a dynamic shape and the vias flood to the pour without thermal relief.  I need this done as well to the main ground pour on a different layer without the vias isolating and there being any clearance around them.  I want them to short. I managed to get it achieved by creating a static copper area on the main ground layer and covered all of the vias so they would be solid to that ground as well. Basically adding a "slab" of copper over the vias in the center of that pad.  Is there a way to do this without causing a shorting error?  Maybe a special property added to the pad? W I managed to get the shorts to be waived, but had to jump through hoops and sequences to make that happen. Just wondering if there are any tricks to get separate grounds tied without errors. Thanks for any help!

• You can add a net_short property to a pin, via or static shape that has a value of netname1:netname2 and so on. Which will remove the DRC. There's an app note orcad.co.uk/.../Netshort_Definition.pdf with more detail if you want to drive this from the schematic.
  • FormerMember
    FormerMember in reply to steve